Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis

Morbus Crohn und Colitis

What are Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis?
Crohn's disease (named after Dr Burrill B. Crohn, who discovered it) also called ileitis, is an inflammation of the small intestine (ileum). In most cases, the end of the small intestine, known as the terminal ileum, is affected; however, portions of the large intestine or the entire large intestine, oesophagus and stomach can also be inflamed.

Colitis is a term designating inflammations of parts of the colon (large intestine) or the entire colon. If these inflammations take the form of small or large ulcers, this is known as ulcerative colitis.

Ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease are chronic conditions. One of their characteristics is the episodic manner in which active phases of the disease alternate with phases of several months to years without any severe symptoms. However, these relapse-free intervals do not mean that the disease has been permanently cured.


Contact

Vifor Ltd.

Route de Moncor 10
P.O. Box
CH-1752 Villars-sur-Glâne

Phone:
+41 58 851 61 11
Fax:
+41 58 851 60 50

Send link

Send as link



Links

Morbus Crohn und Colitis

Morbus Crohn und Colitis

Welche Krankheiten sind Morbus Crohn und Colitis?
Morbus Crohn, Crohn'sche Erkrankung (benannt nach ihrem Entdecker, dem Arzt Dr. Burrill B. Crohn), auch Ileitis genannt, bezeichnet eine Entzündung des Dünndarms (Ileum). In den meisten Fällen ist der letzte Abschnitt des Dünndarms, das sog. terminale Ileum, betroffen, es können aber auch Teile des Dickdarms oder der gesamte Dickdarm sowie Speiseröhre und Magen entzündet sein.

Colitis ist ein Begriff für Entzündungen von Teilen des Colons (Dickdarm) oder des gesamten Colons. Treten diese Entzündungen in Form von kleineren oder grösseren Geschwüren (Ulzera) auf, spricht man von einer Colitis ulcerosa.

Colitis ulcerosa und Morbus Crohn sind chronische Erkrankungen. Charakteristisch ist der schubartige Verlauf, in dem sich aktive Krankheitsphasen mit Phasen von mehreren Monaten bis Jahren abwechseln, in denen keine schweren Krankheitssymptome auftreten. Diese rückfallfreien (rezidivfreien) Intervalle bedeuten aber nicht, dass die Krankheit für immer geheilt ist.


Kontakt

Vifor AG

Route de Moncor 10
Postfach
CH-1752 Villars-sur-Glâne

Tel:
+41 58 851 61 11
Fax:
+41 58 851 60 50

Link senden

Als Link versenden



Links